As approved by the State of Virginia and the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) teens can now take a self-paced, computer based online program that satisfies the classroom training as required by the DMV. Here are the key points:
- The program consists of at least 30 hours of instructions and includes components about alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel efficient driving practices, motorcycle aware and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law.
- You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to take the online driver education course. All individuals who elect to take the classroom component of the driver’s education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home-schooled students are exempt from this requirement.
- In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable with using a computer.
We are partnered with DriversEd.com for the online program. They have been providing online driver education to students across the country for over 25 years.